Ezen Baklattan

CAYOM Y6 - Official Discussion Thread

So something I wanted to share as I published Sp4rk tonight.

Spoiler

So we've arrived at the end of Spark.

That's a sentence I didn't think I would ever type.

The idea for this movie first came to me when I was in Elementary school. It was something silly, but I didn't know what to make of it. I just thought it would be fun to have that story, pretending it was a movie. Of course, it was completely different. All the characters were furries. The Earth blew up in the first ten minutes. Things didn't look good. At one point, Alex Spark went from dog boy to straight white male in middle school.

It was silly, but I felt like the characters were mine. 

I started playing CAYOM around when I was 13. I was an absolute asshole - I reviewed films without reading them! But that's not the point. It wasn't til I played for a few years that I decided to try adapting Spark for CAYOM.

My first iteration of Spark, written in September 2010, was...decent. It's nowhere near the quality of the original and got solid reviews at best, but it was a hit. Back then, it was a simple animated movie, very much kid focused. It also was a bit too influenced by Scott Pilgrim, which to this day I'm kinda embarrassed about. BOM imploded before I wanted to do a sequel, but even then I couldn't get a good idea. (This would be a trend)

Of course, every version improved over the last, but in a way, this series felt like it guided me in creativity through my entire childhood. Each version feels like a time capsule, influenced by the films and stories I knew at the time, while helping me look back and see how much I've grown. I made a sequel to Spark in 2.0, but never got to see the story to the end.

Tonight, I've published the final chapter of this iteration, and I firmly believe that the story may not get better than this. I say that now...