Tower

Tower ranks the 2019 films

I have never done one of these before because there are better writers than me here, so I didn't think it would be worth the effort. But I feel like doing one this year, and see how it works out.

I have seen 58 films in total so far, and I'll go from worst to best and finish it all by tomorrow. there a few films that I mean to see, but with the deadline for the forum list coming up this seems like a good time to do this.

Also a warning that I might have spoilers so if you are worried about those, then don't read that section.

• Like 2

Echo-הד

Echo Poster

I usually like Israeli films, but this film was just boring. You basically know what this film is about very quickly and it just drags on for another hour without much happening. This film has only one tone (sadness), and it does it the entire film, this combined with the bland characters just made the whole thing unbearable.

• Like 2

57-Long Shot

Long Shot Poster

as a drama it’s predictable and cliche filled and has generic dialogue. There was an argument at some point about following your morals versus compromising get in power, and it just felt like there was nothing in that scene that made it unique to this film.

as a comedy it had a couple of amusing moments, but otherwise I didn’t find it funny, making the whole package bland.

• Like 2
  • Knock It Off 1

56-Missing Link

Missing Link Poster

I wasn’t bored watching this and the basic plot is reasonable, but this film just doesn’t do anything very well. It doesn’t look very good (not just compared to a $200M Pixar production, but compared to something like Kubo), It’s constantly trying to be funny, but never actually is, and as much as the story isn’t terrible, it’s still pretty basic. The climax is also quite stupid with a whole lot of multiple people and a sasquatch being held on to ice by fingertips.

Not the worst film but very forgettable and significantly worse than Kubo and Coraline.

Edited by Tower