Ipickthiswhiterose

Acting awards and Biopics

I hope this is worthy of its own thread.

I thought I would write a post about a deep personal bugbear of mine. I should probably preface this that I am an acting coach at a drama school as well as director and producer in the commercial (immersive thatre) sector and have trained actors for over a decade. You are more than welcome to dismiss this, but I hope it contextualises that even if you disagree with my assertions here, I do at least vaguely know what I am talking about.

Since 2000, of the 38 Academy Awards handed for Best Actor or Actress, NINETEEN have gone to PURE facsimile biopic roles. To be clear, this doesn't even include somewhat expressionist renderings of characters (Olivia Coleman as Queen Anne), unknown people who have had their lives exposed (Dallas Buyers, the Revenant) or interpretations of real people into fictional equivalents (Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart). Just facsimile, tell-a-basic-story-about-a-notable-person biopics. 

So thats half of the greatest performances of each year being straight up impressions of other real people.

In that time, ONE performance from a horror film has been nominated (Two if one is super generous and includes Sweeney Todd),  and THREE performances from pure comedies (Bridget Jones, Depp for Pirates, O Toole for Venus) have been nominated (yes, there are loads more for Dramedies - but there is enormous difference beteween the demands of a comedy intended entirely to make people laugh and a dramedy where laughter is a bonus.).

Over 4 times more biopic performances have WON Oscars than horror and comedy combined have even been nominated.

And the thing is....A biopic performance mostly is just a copy of another personas behaviour. In terms of the order of skills to ask actor to engage in its literally the easiest. There are very, very few examples of biopics critically failing, and even fewer where the 'star turn' has been panned.