chasmmi

Films that had an impact on you which you never expected

A couple of months ago I moved house and without anything much to do was reduced to finding random films to watch. During this search I came across the film: Everything Must Go starrring Will Ferrell. With my previous experience of Ferrell Films, I was expecting some silly over the top fun that was either going to be a lot of fun or total drivel.

Therefore it totally took me by surprise when not only was Ferrell playing a straight role but he absolutely nailed it in my opinion. I have had some experience of family members affected by alcohol and with my defences down due to expectations of a generic Will Ferrell comedy, the whole film just destroyed me. If Ferrell has never experienced ALcoholism in some form then he is wasting himself as a comedy actor.

I honestly can't remember a time before or since when I have felt so personally affected by a film and it was completely unexpected when I chose the source material, which brings me to my question. Has this ever happened to anybody else?

I don't mean watching a film like Schindler's List or Shawshank where depth is a given from the start, but a film that ending up hitting very close to home at a personal level when it was the last film you expected to do so? 

• Like 3